Call for nominations Podgórecki Prize

The Podgórecki Prize
The ISA Research Committee on the Sociology of Law established the Podgórecki Prize in 2004, to honour the memory of Adam Podgórecki, the founding father of RCSL and a leading figure within the international sociological community.
The Prize Committee awards the prize annually for outstanding achievements in socio-legal research, in alternate years for either distinguished and outstanding lifetime achievements, or outstanding scholarship of a socio-legal researcher at an earlier stage of his or her career.

General information about the prize and the Podgórecki Prize rules can be found at:


The Podgórecki Prize is awarded annually by the ISA RCSL for outstanding achievements in socio‐legal research. It recognises, in alternate years, distinguished and outstanding lifetime achievements, and outstanding scholarship by a socio‐legal researcher at an earlier stage of their career.

In 2022 the RCSL Jury Committee for the Podgórecki Prize calls for nominations for the Prize for emerging socio‐legal scholars who have published one or more significant works within no more than 10 years of their doctorate. The prize for emerging socio‐legal scholars is a commemorative certificate and 8 years of complimentary RCSL membership.  

Nominations require the support of at least two members of the RCSL, and should include the candidate’s CV and a brief letter of support signed by the nominators.
Members of the Prize Jury are not allowed to sign as nominators. It is desirable, but not essential, that nominees are members of RCSL. Previous nominees may be re‐nominated in this 2022 round, with updated letters of support and CVs. The Jury Committee does not have access to previous correspondence or reviews.  

Publications may be in any language. For works in languages other than those familiar to the Prize Committee, the nominations should give an indication of the value of the work and provide selected translations. To consider works in less well‐known languages, the Jury Committee may co‐opt and consult other RCSL members.  

Further information may be found at‐podgorecki‐prize

Nominations should be sent to the Chair of the Jury, Prof. Germano Schwartz at to be received by midnight GMT on 28 March 2022. 
The prize will be awarded at the Global Meeting on Law and Society in Lisbon, Portugal on 13‐16 July 2022.

The 2022 Prize Jury is composed of:  
Prof. Germano Schwartz (Chair) (Brazil)
Prof. Benoit Bastard (France)
Prof. Dee Smythe (South Africa)
Prof. Germano Schwartz, 15 January 2022

For more information: 

Manttoni Kortabarria Madina

IISJ (Administration - RCSL)
Avenida de la Universidad, 8
Apartado 28
20560 Oñati (Gipuzkoa) - Spain
T: +34 943 78... Ver teléfono